This fast food chain is 100% vegan! They have a few locations in the GTA, and are expanding rapidly!
Both their in-house veggie burger and their Lightlife burgers are vegan by default. At Harvey’s you get to pick all your own toppings so you don’t need to worry about cheese or mayo being added without asking for it! For toppings, their relish, ketchup, mustard, medium wing sauce, and original BBQ sauce are vegan. In addition to regular fries, their onion rings are also vegan but NOT the deep fried pickles.
And here’s a real treat! Their gravy is vegan so you can get that as a side to dip your fries in!
A&W now serves the Beyond Burger as their veggie burger. It comes with mayo and another dairy-based sauce by default, so you need to request no mayo and no uncle sauce to make it vegan. The onion rings, fries and sweet potato fries are vegan but request no chipotle mayonnaise dipping sauce, and they also have root beer lollipops that are vegan for a unique treat! They state that all of the ingredients in their seeded buns, unseeded buns and English Muffins come from plant sources.
Burger King now has the Impossible Whopper, which you can order without mayo or cheese to make it vegan. The fries now state they do not contain milk on their website, making them an option as well.
While McDonald’s is certainly falling behind the times without any veggie burger in Canada yet, you can still treat yourself to some junk food if you are desperate or find yourself there with non-veg friends or family.
Their hashbrowns and baked apple and strawberry pies are vegan. You can also order smoothies if you ask for no yogurt. In the summer they have iced drinks which are also vegan. Unlike in the US, in Canada the fries do not have beef fat in them.
Click here for the full ingredient list.
KFC has it’s own plant-based menu now. https://www.kfc.ca/plant-based And yes – if you specifically order the plant-based chicken sandwich, the mayo on it is vegan too!
Wendy’s is likewise missing out on the opportunity to please plant-based customers! The only vegan items here are fries and a plain baked potato.
PLEASE NOTE: The items listed as vegan do not contain animal flesh, dairy, eggs, or honey products directly. However, we have not confirmed whether or not they may contain additives, preservatives, or chemical ingredients which are sometimes animal-derived, and the products may be cooked on the same equipment as animal products.